November 16, 2016 The Unbiased Writer

p012412ps-0716President Barack Obama announced the twenty-one 21 recipients of the Presidential Medal of Freedom. Considered the Nation’s highest civilian honor, the award is presented to ‘individuals who have made especially meritorious contributions to the security or national interests of the United States, to world peace, or to cultural or other significant public or private endeavors.’ The 2016 recipients include Frank Gehry, Tom Hanks, Michael Jordan, Ellen DeGeneres, Bill and Melinda Gates, Lorne Michaels, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Emmy and Tony Award-winner Cicely Tyson, and more. President Obama said, “The Presidential Medal of Freedom is not just our nation’s highest civilian honor – it’s a tribute to the idea that all of us, no matter where we come from, have the opportunity to change this country for the better.  From scientists, philanthropists, and public servants to activists, athletes, and artists, these 21 individuals have helped push America forward, inspiring millions of people around the world along the way.”

The awards will be presented at the White House on Tuesday, November 22nd. The event will be streamed live at:



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *