August 23, 2014 The Unbiased Writer


With one of the biggest nights in music just around the corner, we’ve got you covered with what to expect during the 2014 MTV Video Music Awards. The annual award show will be held at the legendary Forum in Los Angeles, Sunday August 24th, with a live pre-show hosted by ‘Pretty Little Liars’ star/ rising country singer Lucy Hale. VMA nominees Charli XCX and Fifth Harmony will help kick off all the action during the pre-show with performances on the red carpet. Similar to last year, the 2014 MTV Video Music Awards has incredible A-List talent delivering not-to-be-missed performances which include: breakout star Iggy Azalea with Rita Ora performing ‘Black Widow,’ hip hop superstar Nicki Minaj performing her new hit single ‘Anaconda’ for the first time, and global megastar Usher making a triumphant return to the VMA stage. Check out the full list of nominees below:

Video of the Year

  • Iggy Azalea (featuring Charli XCX) — “Fancy”
  • Beyoncé (featuring Jay-Z) — “Drunk in Love”
  • Miley Cyrus — “Wrecking Ball”
  • Sia — “Chandelier”
  • Pharrell Williams — “Happy”

Best Male Video

  • Eminem (featuring Rihanna) — “The Monster”
  • John Legend — “All of Me”
  • Ed Sheeran (featuring Pharrell Williams) — “Sing”
  • Sam Smith — “Stay with Me”
  • Pharrell Williams — “Happy”

Best Female Video

  • Iggy Azalea (featuring Charli XCX) — “Fancy”
  • Beyoncé — “Partition”
  • Ariana Grande (featuring Iggy Azalea) — “Problem”
  • Lorde — “Royals”
  • Katy Perry (featuring Juicy J) — “Dark Horse”

Artist to Watch

  • 5 Seconds of Summer — “She Looks So Perfect”
  • Charli XCX — “Boom Clap”
  • Fifth Harmony — “Miss Movin’ On”
  • Schoolboy Q — “Man of the Year”
  • Sam Smith — “Stay with Me”

Best Pop Video

  • Avicii (featuring Aloe Blacc) — “Wake Me Up”
  • Iggy Azalea (featuring Charli XCX) — “Fancy”
  • Jason Derulo (featuring 2 Chainz) — “Talk Dirty”
  • Ariana Grande (featuring Iggy Azalea) — “Problem”
  • Pharrell Williams — “Happy”

Best Rock Video

  • Arctic Monkeys — “Do I Wanna Know?”
  • The Black Keys — “Fever”
  • Imagine Dragons — “Demons”
  • Linkin Park — “Until It’s Gone”
  • Lorde — “Royals”

Best Hip-Hop Video

  • Childish Gambino — “3005”
  • Drake (featuring Majid Jordan) — “Hold On, We’re Going Home”
  • Eminem — “Berzerk”
  • Kanye West — “Black Skinhead”
  • Wiz Khalifa — “We Dem Boyz”

MTV Clubland Award

  • Disclosure — “Grab Her!”
  • DJ Snake and Lil Jon — “Turn Down for What”
  • Martin Garrix — “Animals”
  • Calvin Harris — “Summer”
  • Zedd (featuring Hayley Williams) — “Stay the Night”

Best Collaboration

  • Beyoncé (featuring Jay-Z) — “Drunk in Love”
  • Chris Brown (featuring Lil Wayne and Tyga) — “Loyal”
  • Eminem (featuring Rihanna) — “The Monster”
  • Ariana Grande (featuring Iggy Azalea) — “Problem”
  • Katy Perry (featuring Juicy J) — “Dark Horse”
  • Pitbull (featuring Kesha) — “Timber”

Best Direction

  • Beyoncé — “Pretty Hurts” (Director: Melina Matsoukas)
  • Miley Cyrus — “Wrecking Ball” (Director: Terry Richardson)
  • DJ Snake and Lil Jon — “Turn Down for What” (Directors: DANIELS)
  • Eminem (featuring Rihanna) — “The Monster” (Director: Rich Lee)
  • OK Go — “The Writing’s on the Wall” (Directors: Damian Kulash, Aaron Duffy & Bob Partington)

Best Choreography

  • Beyoncé — “Partition” (Choreographers: Svetlana Kostantinova, Philippe Decouflé, Danielle Polanco and Frank Gatson)
  • Jason Derulo (featuring 2 Chainz) — “Talk Dirty” (Choreographer: Amy Allen)
  • Michael Jackson and Justin Timberlake — “Love Never Felt So Good” (Choreographers: Rich and Tone Talauega)
  • Kiesza — “Hideaway” (Choreographer: Ljuba Castot)
  • Sia — “Chandelier” (Choreographer: Ryan Heffington)
  • Usher — “Good Kisser” (Choreographers: Jamaica Craft and Todd Sams)

Best Visual Effects

  • Disclosure — “Grab Her!” (Visual Effects: Mathematic and Emile Sornin)
  • DJ Snake and Lil Jon — “Turn Down for What” (Visual Effects: DANIELS and Zak Stoltz)
  • Eminem — “Rap God” (Visual Effects: Rich Lee, Louis Baker, Mammal Studios, Laundry! and Sunset Edit)
  • OK Go — “The Writing’s on the Wall” (Visual Effects: 1stAveMachine)
  • Jack White — “Lazaretto” (Visual Effects: Mathematic and Jonas & François)

Best Art Direction

  • Arcade Fire — “Reflektor” (Art Director: Anastasia Masaro)
  • Iggy Azalea (featuring Charli XCX) — “Fancy” (Art Director: David Courtemarche)
  • DJ Snake and Lil Jon — “Turn Down for What” (Art Director: Jason Kisvarday)
  • Eminem — “Rap God” (Art Director: Alex Pacion)
  • Tyler, The Creator — “Tamale” (Art Director: Tom Lisowski)

Best Editing

  • Beyoncé — “Pretty Hurts” (Editor: Jeff Selis)
  • Eminem — “Rap God” (Editor: Ken Mowe)
  • Fitz and The Tantrums — “The Walker” (Editor: James Fitzpatrick)
  • MGMT — “Your Life Is a Lie” (Editor: Erik Laroi)
  • Zedd (featuring Hayley Williams) — “Stay the Night” (Editor: Daniel “Cloud” Campos)

Best Cinematography

  • Arcade Fire — “Afterlife” (Director of Photography: Evan Prosofsky)
  • Beyoncé — “Pretty Hurts” (Directors of Photography: Darren Lew and Jackson Hunt)
  • Lana Del Rey — “West Coast” (Director of Photography: Evan Prosofsky)
  • Gesaffelstein — “Hate or Glory” (Director of Photography: Michael Ragen)
  • Thirty Seconds to Mars — “City of Angels” (Director of Photography: David Devlin)

Best Video with a Social Message

  • Avicii — “Hey Brother”
  • Beyoncé — “Pretty Hurts”
  • J. Cole (featuring TLC) — “Crooked Smile”
  • David Guetta (featuring Mikky Ekko) — “One Voice”
  • Angel Haze (featuring Sia) — “Battle Cry”
  • Kelly Rowland — “Dirty Laundry”

Best Lyric Video

  • 5 Seconds of Summer — “Don’t Stop”
  • Ariana Grande (featuring Iggy Azalea) — “Problem”
  • Demi Lovato (featuring Cher Lloyd) — “Really Don’t Care”
  • Austin Mahone (featuring Pitbull) — “Mmm Yeah”
  • Katy Perry — “Birthday”

Michael Jackson Video Vanguard Award

  • Beyoncé

Make sure you tune in this Sunday, August 24th, at 9/8c to check out all the action! Be sure to let us know what you think in the comment section!

Via Brash.com


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *